top of page

LOTS OF JOBS


So it’s been exactly two month since my last blog post. Two month since I gave up alcohol. I’d like to say it’s been so long because I’ve been so busy living such a fulfilled life now I’m sober - don’t get me wrong it’s been great - but the real reason is because I haven’t really had any spare time since I started my new job and I’m absolutely knackered!

In my last blog I mentioned I’d be doing a new blog all about all of the jobs I’ve had. It’s a running joke between me and pretty much everyone I know that I don’t stick around very long. I’ve only had 7 jobs and in 11 year I don’t really think that’s too bad, but when people have bets for how long you’re going to stick it out in a job, I guess I’m alone on that one.

The thing is, I just don’t believe in settling. A lot of the jobs I’ve left, I’ve left because I wasn’t happy there. I strongly believe that we should have a job we love. Yes, obviously we’d all rather win the lottery and be holidaying in Disney (or your chosen location) but the reality unfortunately isn’t that simple. We all have bills to pay - and I don’t even put the lottery on.

In my defence, my first ever job was in a call centre, and I only left said call centre because we literally all got thrown out one day. Just as well really, because if I hadn’t I probably would still be there to this day because back in the day I did settle. I was also settling in my relationships at this point which all makes sense now really. I then went on to work in an opticians and I only left there because I qualified as a teacher and landed myself a teaching job. Sound great right? Wrong, the reality was I was forced to do that degree by people who thought I should and I ended up in a job I HATED! And I really hated it. I loved my class and teaching but I spent the hours before and after school crying in a cupboard. Luckily I was only on a years contract and naturally I didn’t reapply for the job - so there I was looking for my fourth job.

I had just lost weight with Slimming World. I liked to talk and I needed a new job so I became a Slimming World Consultant. I was so happy. I loved this job, mainly because I got to work from home most of the time which meant laying in my pyjamas watching the soaps. But as we all know, after almost 3 years I discovered The Goddess Revolution, realised what I was doing was harmful to my mental health, not to mention all the hundreds of people I’d spoken to over the years and I quit. Jobless yet again.

Luckily my teaching degree did come in handy at this point. It allowed me to go into supply work. I also hated this, but it was great money and I was desperate so I put up with it until I landed my dream job - working in a bridal shop.

Nope wrong again! I thought a 9-5 easy job would be right up my street. I could switch off at home, have an easy life, but I couldn’t of been more wrong. I was bored. It was soul destroying. I met the most amazing bunch of girls and I will keep in touch with them forever but it just wasn’t for me so I quit, without another job to go to AGAIN! Some people may call it reckless, I call it necessary. I refuse to let anything interfere with my mental health.

And so here I am, onto my 7th job. Back working with children and working very unsociable hours but I'm certainly not bored anymore. Will I stay here forever? Possibly not. Does it matter? Not at all. All that matters is my happiness. I’m so lucky to have a partner who has literally supported me through four of these job changes now - luckily for him I’m more loyal to him than my job roles! I believe we should all keep searching for whatever it is that makes us truly happy. Our souls calling. And I will continue to keep searching for whatever it is I’m looking for - I might even start putting the lottery on!

LOTS OF LOVE, LAURA X


bottom of page